Australia provides a diverse range of educational institutions covering all ages and levels of learning.

The State and Territory Governments each manage their own school systems, which mean they provide funds and regulation for their schools. There are both public and private schools but though the curriculum taught across the country may vary from state to state, the learning areas are consistent.

Each state has a Vocational Education and Training (VET) or Technical and Further Education (TAFE) system. VET prepares people for work in a career that does not need a university degree. Each state manages their system and meets at a national level to coordinate their effort. VET is transferable between all states. Study done in one state gains the same status in another state. Typically, a VET/TAFE course takes two years of study.

The Australian Government (national government) provides the funding for universities in all the states. Each is independent in its governance. They set their courses and course content. A professional body must endorse a course for it to run. Typically, a university course takes three or four years of study.